There no items in your cart.
Checkout
MJTRENDS

begginer that needs help!

hi everyone!

im new to the world of latex and trying to find information online is really tricky and im struggling really badly and kind of just need some guidance, im a cosplayer wanting to make some latex clothing like full body suits and shirts and skirts and leggings but a while back i bought some latex and finally attempted to give it a go i think the thickness was either .20mm or less so it is super thin and i know now to get thicker stuff for clothing buy ive ran into a problem with glueing! im not sure if its just because its a thin latex but when i apply glue it starts to curl up onto its self and makes a huge mess and starts sticking to itself, now im not sure if im just using the wrong glue (one i bought on ebay called torbot) or its the thin latex but im having such a hard time with it and almost feel like not even bothering since i live in Australia and just buying latex costs a fortune due to shipping and i dont want to blow all that money!!!! other tips are welcome i need all the help i can get lol thanks :D

Response by: Chloe, July 10th 2015 9:38:25 am

It's not uncommon for latex to curl when you initially put a solvent based glue on it.  The thinner the latex the more it will curl.  There are a couple ways to address this issue:

• Use double sided tape to hold the edge of the latex down to your working table.  When the glue is tacky (after 3 or 4 minutes), pull it up and the curling will be greatly minimized and you can glue much easier.
  • Use MJTrends ammonia based adhesive - it does not cause curling at all.  The only caveat is you don't want to use it for items that will be submerged in water for long periods as long exposure to water submersion may cause the seam to fail.

https://mjtrends.com/products.Ammonia-based-latex,Adhesive,Notions

Response by: foshosho, July 10th 2015 10:30:23 am