There no items in your cart.
Checkout
MJTRENDS

Sewing pvc

I'm new to sewing pvc fabric, and I'm having some trouble hemming the skirts that I've made. I keep getting like a ripple in the hem. Like the fabric is twisting or something.

Can someone recommend to me a method to keep this from happening and get flat hems???

Response by: guest, August 11th 2004 2:36:00 pm

Hi Trish, your problem is that fabric under the presser is being stretched as your sewing the hem. The stretch is then causing the fabric in the hem to buckle and it results in that rippled look you are talking about.

I would recommend that you use a teflon coated presser foot if you aren't already. If you get "sticky" vinyl, even the teflon presser foot is not enough. You need to either place a silicone lubricant for the presser foot to glide over, or some kind of intermediary to place between the presser foot and the fabric to keep the foot gliding smoothly over the fabric- so it doesn't pull or stretch that top layer of fabric in your hem.

Response by: guest, August 27th 2004 3:54:41 pm

Trish, I had the same problem when first learning how to sew with pvc fabric. I bought a silicone lubricant at a hardware store that I used to treat the fabric, and got brilliant results right away. If you can't find anything let me know and I'll try to find the product name I got for you.

Response by: guest, January 3rd 2005 3:26:55 pm